Stations Of The Cross

At Holy Nativity we have a fine set of Stations of the Cross which can be seen on the walls around the church. Each station depicts Jesus and the events leading up to his crucifixion.  

During Lent we have regular services for Stations of The Cross. At these we gather together in church for prayers and reflections at each station in turn. At each station we say " We adore you, O Christ and we praise you. Because by Your Holy Cross you have redeemed the world". We then move between each image where we call to mind His Passion, whilst making our own spiritual pilgrimage as we follow His path to Calvary.

In Holy Nativity the Stations begin on the wall close to the pulpit,  and they run back towards the rear of the church, before moving across to the opposite side and concluding near the Lady Chapel altar.

Here are our Stations;

First Station.  Jesus Is condemned to death.

                                             Second Station.  Jesus receives the cross.

                                      Third Station.  Jesus falls for the first time.

                                Fourth Station.  Jesus meets His mother.

Fifth Station. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross.

Sixth Station.  Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

                    Seventh Station.  Jesus falls for the second time.

                             Eighth Station.  Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

                              Ninth Station.  Jesus falls for the third time.

                              Tenth Station.  Jesus is stripped of His garments.

                               Eleventh Station.  Jesus is nailed to the cross.

                              Twelfth Station.  Jesus dies on the cross.

Thirteenth Station.  Jesus is taken down from the cross.

                              Fourteen Station.  Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Alternative photographs of the Stations of the Cross can be found on the Gallery page.


Support the mission of Holy Nativity Donate